John McEntire

(Key: E = Engineered, M = Mixed, P = Produced, AE = Assistant Engineered, PTE = Pro Tools Edited)

Recording engineer/producer/mixer; Drummer/percussionist, composer. Founding and current member of Tortoise and The Sea & Cake (both 1993-present); former contributing/touring member of Red Krayola and Gastr Del Sol. Extensive international touring with these groups and many others. Recording/re/mixing projects include work with: Modest Mouse, Yo La Tengo, Broken Social Scene, Stereolab, Teenage Fanclub, Jaga Jazzist, The High Llamas, The Fiery Furnaces, Spoon, Blur, and hundreds more. As a member of Tortoise, numerous collaborations with artists such as Tom Zé, Daniel Lanois, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Cluster, The Ex, Fred Anderson, Colin Newman, Lee “Scratch” Perry, and Mouse On Mars. Film composition credits include "Reach The Rock" (John Hughes production), "Lovely Molly" (Eduardo Sanchez directing). Owner/operator of Soma Electronic Music Studios in Chicago IL (1995-2017), Nevada City CA (2017-2019), and Portland OR (2019-present).


Yo La Tengo
Broken Social Scene
Modest Mouse
Teenage Fanclub
Jaga Jazzist
Fiery Furnaces
The High Llamas
The Sea & Cake

unnamed (1).jpg